



EIUC – UNESCO EXPERTS' MEETING

The right to enjoy the benefits of scientific progress and its applications

Venice, 16-17 July 2009

List of participants

Name	Institution
Prof. Kalliope Agapiou-Josephides	University of Cyprus
Prof. Florence Benoît-Rohmer	EIUC Secretary General
Ms. Maria Virginia Bras Gomes	Member of the Committee of Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR)
Prof. Audrey Chapman	Joseph M. Healey Endowed Chair, Medical Humanities, Law, and Ethics, University of Connecticut, Connecticut, USA
Prof. Carmen Marquez Carrasco	University of Seville;
	EMA Chairperson
Mr. Christian Courtis	Human Rights Officer, Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Prof. Yvonne Donders	Executive Director of the Amsterdam Center for International Law, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Andreas Eshete	President of the Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
Mr. Philippe Galiay	European Commission, DG Research Science, Economy and Society Directorate
Prof. Michelo Hansungule	Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria

Prof. Laurence Helfer	Co-Director, Center for International & Comparative Law, Duke University School of Law
Prof. Zdzislaw Kedzia	Adam Mickiewicz University of Poznan, Member of the CESCR
Prof. Jeffrey Kenner	University of Nottingham
Mr. Jorg Krempel	UNESCO Consultant, Human Rights and Gender Equality Section
Prof. Jean-Paul Lehners	University of Luxembourg
Prof. Katre Luhamaa	University of Tartu
Prof. Stephen Marks	François-Xavier Bagnoud Professor of Health and Human Rights, Harvard School of Public Health
Mr. Carlos Mazal	Senior Counsellor of WIPO, Inter-Agency Relations Section
Prof. Sheila McLean	Director of the Institute of Law and Ethics in Medicine, University of Glasgow
Ms. Amrei Mueller	University of Nottingham
Mr. Sisule Fredrick Musungu	President IQsensato
Prof. Helena Pereira de Melo	New University of Lisbon
Prof. Maria Teresa Pizarro Beleza	New University of Lisbon
Dr. Miguel Angel Ramiro Avilés	Bartolomé de las Casas Human Rights Institute, Carlos III University (Madrid)
Prof. Eibe Riedel	Member of the CESCR; University of Mannheim
Mr. Ibrahim Salama	Chief of Human Rights Treaties Branch, OHCHR; individual expert
Prof. Olivier de Schutter	University of Louvain UN Special Rapporteur on the right to food
Prof. Stefano Semplici	Lamaro Pozzani University Member of the International Bioethics Committee of UNESCO (IBC)
Ms. Carmen Sorrentino	World Congress for Freedom of Scientific

	Reasearch coordinator, Luca Coscioni Association representative
Prof. Narongdech Srukhosit	Chulalongkorn University
Prof. Rodolfo Stavenhagen	Colegio de Mexico
	Former UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of the human rights and fundamental freedoms of indigenous people
Prof. Janusz Symonides	University of Warsaw
Mr. Konstantinos Tararas	Assistant Programme Specialist, Fight against Discrimination and Racism Section, UNESCO
Mr. Antony Taubman	Director of the Intellectual Property Division, WTO
Mr. André Tschumi	EIUC Staff
Mr. George Ulrich	EIUC Senior Research Fellow
Prof. Rumen Valchev	Chairholder of the UNESCO Chair on Human Rights and Culture of Peace, Bourgas Free University
Ms. Maria Varaki	Irish Centre For Human Rights
Mr. Vladimir Volodin	Chief of Section of the UNESCO Human Rights and Gender Equality Section
Ms. Jessica Wyndham	Project Director for the Science and Human Rights Program, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)